Dear John

I’m great friends with a boy named John. He makes me margaritas, sleeps on the floor when I accidentally fall asleep in his bed, and will happily waste a couple hours at the library talking with me while we attempt to put a dent in our schoolwork. He’s an amazing friend, and I consider myself beyond lucky to have him in my life. There’s just one problem: I’m falling for him, and he has a girlfriend.

He’s the whole package– smart, funny, attractive, killer personality. We spent the better part of this weekend in a drunken/hungover haze, bonding over awkward situations and not-so-sober text messages. When I’m with John, things are just better.

Don’t get me wrong– I’m not that type of girl. I would never ever breakup a relationship. That’s something sacred between two people, and I would never interfere with that. I’m not that type of person. Right now obviously isn’t the right time, but maybe one day we’ll be together. Besides, the best relationships begin as friendships, right?

For now, I’m just going to push these feelings away and focus on school. In the words of John himself, “I’m totally chilling.”